Governance for the ARUCC Groningen & Student Mobility Project

Project Leadership

The Project is being led by ARUCC through the ARUCC Groningen & Student Mobility Steering Committee. ARUCC is a separately incorporated entity representing colleges, institutes, and universities from across Canada.

Representatives from ARUCCPCCATCUCCIO, and CanPESC sit on the Project Steering Committee in addition to a representative from a region within Canada that currently lacks data exchange capacity. 

The Committee's authority is outlined in the formal Steering Committee Terms of Reference which were reviewed and approved by ARUCC. The Committee is led by a chair, Charmaine Hack (former president of ARUCC - 2016 to 2018; current registrar at Ryerson University) and a vice-chair, Dr. Rob Fleming (board member of PCCAT; current executive director of the British Columbia Council on Admissions and Transfer).

The ARUCC members at the June 2018 biennial meeting formally voted on the Project's road map and focus. At that time, the members indicated ARUCC should continue to do the following:

  • Explore and develop a Canadian data exchange network.
  • Embed core benefits into the network.
    • Improve student service
    • Improve student mobility through efficient data sharing
    • Encourage national dialogue around student mobility and success
    • Align with the national and international goals of other Canadian postsecondary institutions and pathway organizations
  • With ARUCC leading, create a national governance model for the Project; hence, the ARUCC Groningen & Student Mobility Steering Committee.

The Steering Committee meets twice per month and is tasked with leading all aspects of the Project including overseeing a Request for Proposal for a national solution, and establishing a supporting implementation plan and a long-term governance framework for the national data exchange network.

Project Support

Joanne Duklas of Duklas Cornerstone Consulting serves as the Executive Lead for the Project. She is a former registrar and president of ARUCC (2012). Joanne and her team provide strategic and operational support for the Project. Supporting her is Anna Foshay, a former Canadian registrarial leader with previous experience at four Canadian post-secondary institutions and Paolo Errore, a project manager and process improvement professional in IT with Lean certification and experience in the Canadian higher education field.

Translation services are provided by various colleagues including Nathalie Girardin, a trilingual translator.

McPherson Management is providing financial and additional operational support to the Project.  

Field Law is the law firm for ARUCC that is providing legal support for the project.

The Steering Committee establishes other subcommittees as appropriate to the Project needs and phasing. When additional committees and working groups are created, they will be featured on this page.

Other legal, privacy, and technical expertise will be hired as the Project evolves.

ARUCC Groningen & Student Mobility Technical Advisory Committee ('TAC')

The ARUCC Groningen & Student Mobility Steering Committee established a Technical Advisory Committee for the national student data exchange platform. This group completed its work in June 2019 although its members remain available as the project moves forward. These Committee members provided technical advice to support the technical aspects of the business case and RFP for the national data exchange solution. Its activities were governed by formal pdfTerms of Reference. Meetings of this group occurred every three to four weeks throughout the winter, spring, and summer of 2019. The chair and vice-chair of the Committee were Brian Stewart, deputy CIO, University of Alberta, and Alex Ferworn, Professor, Ryerson University. 

The Committee included pdfrepresentatives from higher education organizations and institutions who fulfilled the following criteria: 

  • Represented an institution/organization that has formally endorsed the national Project. 
  • Did not represent an institution/organization that is intending to participate in the RFP process for the national data exchange solution. 
  • Had expertise in data exchange, data security, and/or identity management related to the exchange of student data. 
  • Were supported by their leadership to participate in the Project.
  •  ** NEW Project SubCommittee**

    ARUCC Groningen Project RFP Review Committee

    The Project Steering Committee is pleased to announce the establishment of a new national RFP Review Committee to support the work of the Project Steering Committee. It is being co-chaired by Charmaine Hack (Registrar, Ryerson University; ARUCC’s past president; Chair of the Project Steering Committee) and Brian Stewart (Deputy CIO, University of Alberta; member, Project Steering Committee; Chair, Canadian University Council of Chief Information Officers). The Committee includes leaders from across Canada with expertise in a range of areas including purchasing, registrarial business processes, IT system design and data architecture, data privacy, identity management, service agreements and warranties, licensing, and more. ARUCC directors are formally represented on both the RFP Review Committee and the Steering Committee.

    Questions regarding the governance for the National Project?

    Contact Joanne Duklas, Executive Lead (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)