Andrew Arida Distinguished Service Award

Named in recognition of ARUCC Past President Andrew Arida, whose contributions to the Canadian registrarial and admissions professions were numerous, the Andrew Arida Distinguished Service Award recognizes members or associate members who have exemplary records of service to the Association, have contributed to the advancement of the Canadian registrarial profession significantly, and continue to be actively employed by a member or associate member institution/organization. Nominations can be made by any ARUCC member or associate member. Nominations can be made by any ARUCC member or associate member.

ARUCC award recipients from prior years are welcome to request a digital award badge by contacting This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Romesh Vadivel PhotoRomesh Vadivel (McGill University)

Romesh Vadivel is well known across the national ARUCC community. He has worked in the Canadian registrarial field for more than 25 years and has been an active member of the ARUCC Board since 2014. He has an exemplary record of service to the Association and in making significant contributions to the advancement of the registrarial profession. During his time on the ARUCC Board, he has served as president, past president, vice president, and Québec BCI Representative. He is currently the ARUCC Board Director for the MyCredsTM National Network. Impactful as a leader throughout his career, Romesh has led successful and innovative institutional initiatives in Enrolment Services at McGill, co-led national projects including the MyCreds|MesCertif national network, which was launched during his ARUCC presidency, and has represented Canada on the Groningen Declaration Network (GDN) Board of Directors. In all settings, he has demonstrated his capacity to forge ahead into new and innovative territories, encouraging registrarial colleagues and others to enhance their practices and serve students and alumni more effectively. Romesh has been able to do all of this with humour, diplomacy and a rare ability to maintain perspective.

His contributions to ARUCC, the profession and his institution have been exemplary, and he embodies the attributes and commitment that are fundamental to this award.


Barb Elich HeadshotBarb Elich (University of Regina)

Barb's career in the registrarial field, combined with her profound impact on ARUCC and the broader academic community, exemplifies her unwavering commitment to serving students and advancing the Canadian registrarial profession. As the Chair of the MyCreds/MesCertif Communications Working Group, Barb has demonstrated outstanding leadership and expertise in spearheading the development of communications supporting the national credential network. Her contributions extend far beyond this role as she has served as the Saskatchewan member-at-large for the Western Association of Registrars of Universities and Colleges in Canada (WARUCC) for over a decade, demonstrating her enduring commitment to service leadership.

As a mentor, she invests in the growth of others, fostering a culture of continuous learning. Barb's unwavering dedication to the principles and practices of the registrarial profession is unparalleled. Her efforts have moved the University of Regina forward, particularly in record retention practices and transition to a paperless environment while ensuring the preservation and protection of historical records. Barb's leadership shines through in her pivotal role in numerous systems and operational projects—a testament to her dedication, expertise, and change management skills.

Barb's impact transcends mere service; it embodies a profound commitment to excellence and innovation within our profession.



Alison PickrellAlison Pickrell  (University of Saskatchewan)

Alison Pickrell will be familiar to many ARUCC members. She is known provincially, regionally, and nationally as a skilled senior student affairs professional with almost 40 years of experience in the postsecondary sector. Alison is retiring from the University of Saskatchewan in July 2022. In recognition of her long and distinguished career, the University of Saskatchewan staff would like to nominate her for the Andrew Arida Distinguished Service Award, as we know she wishes to remain connected to the profession after her retirement.

Alison began her long and distinguished career in the Registrar’s Office at the U of S in 1982 while still a student and transitioned to being a full-time employee in 1985. Since then, she has held progressively more responsible positions in registrarial areas, both at the U of S and at the Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Arts and Science (SIAST, now SaskPoly). This includes service as Registrar at SIAST from 2003-6, Associate Vice-President, Student Affairs, SIAST, 2006-11, Director of Enrolment, U of S, 2011-2017, and Assistant Vice-Provost, Strategic Enrolment Management, U of S, 2017 to present.

Throughout her career Alison has shown a dedication to her colleagues, profession, and to students that has been admirable. She has made a tremendous contribution in areas such as strategic enrolment management and enrolment planning, policy formulation, student mobility and education credential portability, Indigenous and International recruitment and retention, technological advancements and implementations, and learning pathways. In recognition of her considerable contributions to the profession, we think she would be a worthy recipient of the Andrew Arida Distinguished Service Award.


Beth CannBeth Cann (Dalhousie University)

Beth Cann, Associate Registrar and Director, Academic Systems and Services, has been a member of the Dalhousie community for more than two decades, occupying increasingly senior roles within Project Management, Information Technology Services, and most recently, the Registrar’s Office. Throughout her tenure, Beth has consistently demonstrated the highest levels of service, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. She has led countless critical transformations, both at Dalhousie and in the Atlantic region (as chair of the Atlantic Registrar Council and executive member of AARAO), which demonstrate her tremendous skill, experience, and capacity as a registrarial leader.


Past Andrew Arida Distinguished Award Winners

(This award was created in 2021. The first winners of this award will be announced in 2022)